It all started with a pink box…

My interest in makeup started at the young age of 13. I was living with my aunt, in a full house with my 2 brothers and 3 cousins. You can imagine, growing up with nothing but boys, I wasn’t your typical “girly girl”. I enjoyed playing in the mud, getting my hands dirty, and playing video games. Makeup was the last thing on my little mind.

I remember going to family parties, and a particular aunt calling me out and pulling me aside. She would say something like,

” Estas muy palida, necesitas poquito color en tus chapetes”. Translated in english, ” You are very pale, you need color in your cheeks”.

She would then proceed by digging into her purse, looking for a lipstick. She would rub it between her fingers and smudge it into my cheeks and lips. I remember running to the bathroom to look at myself and see what exactly that did. I can’t remember exactly what I thought at that moment, but clearly it left an impression on me.

Christmas time was near, which meant it was time to write my “WANT LIST”. I asked for a couple of things, but there was one thing on that list, that I particularly wanted. I seen this makeup case at Wal-Mart, (of all places, don’t judge me I was 12) It was a big glittery pink makeup box. It had lipsticks, eyeshadow, and glitter. I was in complete awe by it. Well, Christmas morning had arrived and I was given just that. That glittery pink box was my obsession. Guess who gifted me that makeup box? Did you guess my aunt? You were right! It was that very same aunt that would smear lipstick all over my face. She created a monster, I tell you. Well at least in my other aunts eyes. They were not to happy about it. The moment they realized I wanted to wear it out in public, I could see the fear in my aunts eyes. haha. After all, it was probably for the best. The shades and texture of those lipsticks and eyeshadow in that box were horrendous.

But at the age of 12 soon to be 13, that box was the prettiest thing I’ve ever seen. It was THE prettiest thing I owned. It brought so much happiness to me, playing with these vibrant and colorful products.

I managed to pull up some pictures on Google that resembled that box. You will find them down below…. it’s quite the laugh. (for other makeup lovers-artist)

It’s crazy to think that my aunt was the one who ignited this little flame inside, which in turn resulted in this burning fire. You will come to find, as you follow me on this journey that I truly love what makeup can do and how it can make someone feel.
It’s more than what social media portrays the makeup industry. A little bit of color or a lot of color, can truly make someone feel their best. I’ve seen makeup bring tears and happiness to a cancer warrior, to a teenage girl going to her prom. Whatever the age, race, or sexuality… it brings confidence and has the ability to boost ones self-esteem. I know a lot of people will argue this statement, but this is simply my opinion based on real life encounters with people.

Many people will not agree with what my aunt did. Matter of fact, I don’t agree with what she did. I was only 12 years old, for goodness sake. But I have come to the agreement, that I was born with this talent. So whether it was my aunt that influenced me, or someone on T.V. It happened, and i wouldn’t have had it any other way.

So I say thank you to her… thank you for that pretty glittery pink box.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment